Customer Reviews from UpFrontReviews

UpFrontReviews automatically ask each new customer to rate the property.

Here are the results from reviews since September 2013:

 

If you are looking for a self-catering break in the Peak District then Rokeby Cottage in Hathersage could fit the bill. We look forward to hearing from you.

 


Tripadvisor Reviews

Tripadvisor reviewers gave Rokeby Cottage an average rating of 4.5 out of 5.

Here are some of the comments received:

Blob Blob Blob Blob Blob 
Fabulous Cottage

Rokeby Cottage is lovely! It is close enough to the town to walk to get an ice-cream or supplies from the garage shop (very well stocked) and there are lots of local walks which start from Hathersage too. Stanage Edge can be walked to which was great for my rock-climbing husband!

The cottage is cosy, clean, warm and beautifully decorated. The kitchen is well appointed with plenty of important items like sharp knives and a cork screw! The view from the back was unexpectedly picturesque too. The bathroom is small, but again beautifully appointed, and the shower is very powerful. The main bedroom is spacious and very comfortable.

Travelling with our 3 month old son for the first time was made easy by the owners providing a travel cot and brand new bedding (as well as the bonus of a washing machine and tumble dryer!) Communication with Hugh, the owner, was easy via email. 

We loved this little cottage and would highly recommend it, there's nothing we'd change about our stay. We'll be back. KBee - April 2013

 

Blob Blob Blob Blob Blob 
Lovely Cottage in Great Location

Have just returned from rokeby cottage after a weeks stay. lovely quirky cottage! Everything you need in cottage,great kitchen well equipped, master bedroom is larger than expected. Stairs are steep but as old cottage expected. Hathersage is beautiful location and visited lots of places of interest. Sue Guppy - March 2013.

Blob Blob Blob Blob Blob
Wonderful Rokeby

If you are looking for a break in the Peak District this is the place to go. This is the cosiest cottage you will find and has everything and more including a lovely secluded patio/garden. It is sometimes difficult to find a lovely property that actually allows dogs as we have a small dog who loves to holiday in the UK. As soon as you enter throught the front door you will feel completely at home. The little town of Hathersage itself has everything you need and there are plenty of walks to suit everyone straight from the door. Can't rate it high enough...love it and hopefully we'll be returning yet again next year.  BooDerby_UK, Derby, UK, April 2012

 

Blob Blob Blob Blob Blob
Home from Home

Excellent location and well appointed and cosy cottage. The only issue we had was our 6'2" son had to stoop slightly in the kitchen! Hathersage has a good butcher, baker and grocer, some nice tea shops and great walks from the village. A really good base to explore the Hope valley and Stanage Edge etc. Off road parking is snug if your car is bigger than a medium family hatchback. Staircase is very steep so not suitable for people who find stairs a challenge.  Mr Green, Ipswich, December 2011

 

Blob Blob Blob Blob Blob
Perfect Getaway

It was the first time we travelled in this country with our 7 month old son and we were looking for a hassle free retreat, close to walks and other attractions - this was perfect. The owners had thought of everything, everywhere was clean and tidy, a complete home from home. Thoroughly recommend. Abbeyreviewer, East Sussex, August 2011

 

Blob Blob Blob Blob Blob
Cosy Home from Home

All the comforts of home, very well equipped kitchen, warm and cosy and beautifully decorated. Great location for walks and handy for local facilities in the town. We appreciated being able to take our dog! Thank you. Emma, Twickenham, Middex, February 2011

 

Blob Blob Blob Blob Blob
The Perfect Christmas Holiday

A very pleasant traditional cottage with all the high specifications mod cons one could ask for. Decorated beautifully with modest Christmas decorations, warm on arrival and everything was clean, clutter free with a quirky, quaint feeling to it. Great views especially from the rear windows with excellent walks on the door step. Just a short five minute walk down a small hill to the friendly Pubs and Cafe's and near enough to bigger towns for anything the well stocked village garage/Spa didn't have. Well recommended by both my wife and myself, but don't book the Christmas week, it's ours!! Gary Tuck, Loughborough, February 2011

 

Blob Blob Blob Blob Blob
Delightful Cottage

The cottage is cosy, very clean , with full amenties.Also very warm in the cold winter months.The only issue is the tight parking off road( vauhall corsa). Definitely recommend this was cottage. Joe, Bexhill on Sea, November 2010

 

Blob Blob Blob Blob Blob
Perfection

This cottage really was perfect, from the welcome tea and biscuits, to the log burner, to the fantastically equiped kitchen to the sheep in the field out the back! It is also brilliantly located to explore the Peak District. We were first time visitors who will definitely be back. This cottage was recommended to us by a friend and we have already recommended it oursleves. You won't find better than this. Corine & Grant, Hemel Hempstead, June 2010

 

Blob Blob Blob Blob
Immaculate Cottage ...but one or two snags.

It's a beautifully maintained cottage with a lovely view from the patio/terrace at the rear. The cottage is really well equipped and was spotlessly clean on arrival. It's one of the best we've stayed in, so I can't fault it at all on that score ... But ... The stairs are steep and narrow ,and twist round with just a rope to hold on to ... no bannister. Anyone with mobility problems could find it really difficult to get up to the bedrooms and bathroom. Coming down from the main bedroom (which is lovely and spacious) is quite hazardous as it involves descending four steep stairs (with nothing to hold on to) that lead directly down on to the "spiral staircase" mentioned above. Warning ... Don't attempt to go down from the main bedroom to the bathroom if you've been out "on the town" in Hathersage and have returned to Rokeby Cottage the worse for wear !!! The "off road" parking space next to the cottage is tight, even for a small car like our Nissan Micra. Jaggers Lane is quite narrow outside "Rokeby Cottage". If you have a large car, be prepared (maybe) to find a parking spot further down Jaggers Lane where the road is wider. Eating out ... We only did this on two nights. All I can say is that the "Little John" (only a 5 minute walk from the cottage) serve delicious curries with "proper" crisp poppodoms. Please do recycle bottles, cans & paper by taking them to the car-park in the village (the access is off the Grindfleford road). CreweAlexForever, Worcestershire, September 2011

 

Blob Blob Blob Blob
Lovely little cottage

Stayed here with my hubby and our labrador for New Year, lovely little cottage, well equipped, warm and cosy and an ideal location for lots of walks. Hathersage is a nice little town with a few shops and a lovely deli (home made cakes were gorgeous). Monkeygirl78, Stoke on Trent, January 2011

 

Blob Blob Blob Blob
Great base for walking

Beautiful cottage. Very well re-furbished. Excellently equipped. Quiet location yet within walking distance of the town centre. Convenient pubs with good food and a good Indian take-away/restaurant also.A very good base for excellent walks both around the town as well as further afeild in the Peak District. John H, Yeovil, Somerset, September 2010